Who we are

Working for Peace Through the Arts

Our Board

Chair and acting Hon. Treasurer
Adrian Graves, DPhil, BA Hons

View Profile

Adrian has been treasurer of the Peace Foundation since 2018. He was born in Alberton, raised with his seven siblings in Pennington and educated in Somerton Park, Adelaide. He is an economic historian, occupying academic positions at the Universities of Oxford, Edinburgh, NSW, Adelaide and Tasmania, followed by senior management roles in higher education in Adelaide, Aberdeen and Manchester.

Adrian was coordinator and treasurer of the SEARCH Foundation, Sydney, between 2014 and 2018, whence he returned to Adelaide.

He has a passion for the arts having been a professional actor early in his career, and later, chairman of the Adelaide Central School of Art. He is a lifelong trade unionist and activist and is the proud father of daughters who live with their partners and children in New York, Melbourne and Adelaide. He is currently researching and writing a history of the Peace Foundation.

Hon. Secretary
Ann Kerr, BGovtPubMgmt. MPubAdmin(Pol)

View Profile

Born and bred in South Australia, as a child Ann grew up very aware of the impacts of war. Both of her grandfathers were involved in the First World War, one of whom lost his leg and his brother to the war. As a young teenager she was strongly opposed to the Vietnam War and had strong beliefs in equality and social justice.

Ann spent over 30 years working in strategic policy in government, mostly in the skills and employment portfolio. As a student at Flinders University she completed a Bachelor Degree in Government and Public Management and a Master of Public Administration (Policy).

“My beliefs very much align with those of the Peace Foundation and I am proud to be a member of the Board.”

Board Member
Naomi Ebert Smith

View Profile

Naomi is a communication and marketing professional with 20 years of experience in digital and content marketing, public speaking, public relations, video production, event management, e-learning, not-for-profit governance, entrepreneurship, stakeholder engagement and community development.

After ten years in Europe, working in fashion and advertising, she returned to Adelaide to join Relationships Australia South Australia, a leading provider of community services and nationally recognised training. Naomi is the previous General Manager Communications and Development, overseeing a multidisciplinary team that provides support to fifty-two diverse services and programs across relationship counselling, post-separation, gambling help, trauma counselling services, children and youth services.

She is the past chairperson of Take 2 Action Ltd that hospice and started the 48 Hour Film Project in Adelaide – a wild and sleepless competition in which teams make a short film in just 48 hours. The winner goes on to compete at Filmapalooza in the US against 160 countries from around the world.

Board Member
Iris Iwanicki, PhD, BA, GDTP, M.Env. Law, Life Fellow RPIA

View Profile

With extensive experience in town planning and heritage conservation work, Iris has advised and represented local government and other clients in strategic and statutory planning matters for over 30 years. Her past experience includes state register historian, chief planner (DA) City of Adelaide, environmental services manager (DC Willunga) tertiary teaching, and private consultancy.

Previously member of the State Heritage Authority, SA Pastoral Board, State Planning Commission (deputy Presiding Member), Conservation Council of SA, EDO, and Past President PIA(SA), her interests include art, theatre, environmental matters, and community engagement in planning.

Board Member
Lisa Radetti, BA (Comms Studs)

View Profile

Lisa is an experienced public relations specialist with a 40-year career in the media industry, public sector and non-profit organisations. She is skilled in marketing, corporate communications and stakeholder engagement through strategic and operational planning and execution, including the functions of speech writing, copywriting, media management, event management and digital and social media management.

She is a past member of the Public Relations Institute of Australia (SA Branch) and the Media Arts and Entertainment Alliance.

Lisa’s contribution to the Peace Foundation combines her extensive professional expertise with her personal interests and commitment to the arts, social justice and environmental sustainability.

Founder, Ex-Officio Board Member
Léonie Ebert, BSc, MEdAmin

View Profile

As a teacher, unionist and peace activist committed to justice, equality, innovation and the power of education, Léonie was amongst the first cohort of women appointed to the position of high school principal.

Léonie was active in the teachers’ union throughout her teaching career, especially in relation to conditions of service, the education of girls, the status of women teachers, Aboriginal education and Aboriginal education workers. She fought for the creation of the position of women’s officer, was founding chair of the Status of Women’s Committee and initiated the training program for union representatives. Léonie was also the first woman president from 1982-3, when teachers initially affiliated with the peak body of trade unions.

Other activities included:

  • UNESCO Commissioner in 1983
  • the first woman President of the Australian Curriculum Studies Association, pursuing her passion for education at the national level
  • Adelaide City Councillor- supporting heritage, Aboriginal and youth ambassadors’ programs and initiating the Migration Museum’s Philosophers Café
  • long term active member of Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, attending international activities.

She founded The Graham F Smith Peace Foundation after the death of her husband Graham Smith in 1989, to work for peace through the arts and has passionately led it since its inception.

Peace Ambassadors

Alison Fort – Graphic Designer

Alison offers a full complement of professional graphic design services for a wide range of communication media. She is also a ‘causist’ – involved with many community initiatives and not-for-profit organisations, small and large, on a paid and/or pro-bono basis. We deeply appreciate the enormous contribution she makes to the Peace Foundation.

Jennie Goh

Malaysian born, Adelaide based artist, Jennie is a Fellow of the Royal South Australian Society of Arts (RSASA) and exhibits regularly. Her work is also represented in private collections in other states and in United Kingdom, USA, New Zealand, Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan, Taiwan and China.

 Founding Members

The following founding trustees signed the Declaration of Trust on
20 February 1990, to formally establish The Graham F Smith Peace Trust (in order of appearance on the original document).

Cathy Picone (the settlor)
David Trebilcock
Hon. Ian Gilfillan MLC
Julia Lester
Janice Perry
Neil Lovett
Paul Acfield
Josephine Bennetts
James Redden

Heather Southcott
Hon. Peter Duncan MP
James Hyde
Leonie Ebert
Basil Moore
Shirley Moore
Christopher White
Michael Duigan
David Smith

Ann Newmarch
Jenny Smith
John Humphrys
Donald Sutherland
Peter Johnstone
Taisa Ceris
Margaret Butcher
Andy Alcock

Support the Peace Foundation

You can take action to support artists who create inspirational and moving experiences.